My horror movie reviews

Yakuza Apocalypse Review

This is not an easy film to watch for multiple reasons. Most of them are obvious ones (especially if you’ve seen the director’s previous works like I have) but that doesn’t mean it’s bad. If anything it becomes something completely unique within its own brand of bizarre. Yeah, it’s very much a cross between a vampire film and a yakuza film. Yet as it goes along it doesn’t stop there within neither the fantasy nor even martial arts elements. To put it plainly it goes from a Japanese gangster drama with a hint of fantasy elements to what I can only emphasize as an evil Kerope/Kermit the frog Bruce Lee hybrid bent on destroying everything. My only gripe might be the ending, but I was too attuned to the film’s craziness to really feel bothered by it. It’s equal parts fun, wtf, and well made overall.