My horror movie reviews

Tremors Review

I finally saw the first half of this movie. It's really not that big of a deal, except I almost felt something I hadn't felt since 2019: The idea that remembering is like reliving. Basically I felt in a way I hadn't felt since 13 years ago. At least during the first minute. After that the nostalgia began to slowly wear off, albeit in that same bittersweet manner, as I took into account the journey I had gone through since then and how radically (albeit inevitably) I had changed. When I saw the second Tremors for the first time I was still in Elementary/Primary school. A lot had happened since then before I then saw just the second half of the first one. Yeah, I was in a way back home, it just felt like everyone had moved out long ago (if not the equally bad times of said past potentially beginning to kick in). For the first time their memories were just that all along: ghosts and nothing more. That's all I can really say about the feeling without sidetracking. As for the movie itself it's all right, like the Nope of the Early 90s with how it combines scifi with that Post-western feeling. Granted they have a clever way of introducing the creature without showing it completely. It's a bit more coherent in its inspiration (even for a film based on the holdover of the giant worm movies of the 80s) than the second one, though. Granted they're both schlocky, the first Tremors was just a better constructed schlock.