My horror movie reviews

Tremors 2 Review

What makes this movie ultimately good is that it's not. Bear with me on this: the best movies sometimes are not defined by subjective terms as "good" nor "bad" but rather by terms such as "experience" or "journey". No, you don't need to be in a Zen state to be able to sit through this movie. You do, however, need an hour or two to kill and an open enough mind to accept the premise before watching it and after the post-film catharsis sets in. In fact let me add this fun little anecdote which will help you decide whether I'm credible enough or not to give it a go: I didn't even see the FIRST Tremors (at least not completely enough to say I did properly). I mention all of this because it's just as easy to rip this movie apart as it is to praise it. Why is it bad? Because of numerous reasons, I know, from its straight-to-video status to its CG that is not only (almost intentionally) dated but will probably make you appreciate Jurassic Park 2 more, feel free to come up with something better. Why is it good? Because it's almost conscious of the fact it's essentially a sequel to a movie that was reminding us how 80s films like Dune and Beetlejuice were romanticizing the kind of 50s monster movies that would look like so if they were adapted in the 90s. And as if ripping off Jurassic Park wasn't enough, the fact these creatures have infrared vision for eyes is the film essentially inviting us to turn our brains off for the ride. And I have to come clean: as predictable as it was, the scene with the revealed hands (grasping onto something) still managed to shock me either way. Like I said the quality will all depend on you, but I was ok with this in general. To say any more would be to ruin the overall impression I got from it (personally).