My horror movie reviews

The Wicker Man (1973) Review

I feel as though almost as of recently, Folk Horror is, out of all its subgenres, the least akin to contemporary horror. Meaning that although it is scary it’s not demonstrated in a traditional manner. Or, to put it more concretely, this makes Halloween look more suited to the 70s horror wave it was released in yet wasn’t completely a part of. Granted that since this is not only Folk horror but English horror the latter has always been known for either mixing a genre with horror or extracting the most niche idea possible. So if nothing else it’s more an unconventional horror movie than what we’ve been taught to believe ever since the time of its release. That or you may as well censor certain scenes from this movie with Nicolas Cage's face on them (I mean give me a break given the name of the blog I'm posting this in..).