My horror movie reviews

The Vanishing of S.S. Willie Review

I will hand this movie this much: although it plays it safe, it also plays it maturely for a film based on the world's once cherished Disney icon. I don't really know why I wanted to go further down the hellhole of public domain features after having put up with Blood and Honey. I guess suffice to say that, when it comes to horror movies, you dont actually "have nowhere to go but up". On the suitably grim contrary: you keep digging down into the darkness until the very light originates from the rock bottom that started it all anyway. But as I mentioned earlier, this movie reminds me less of a messy exploitation flick and more of a satirical mixture between the original Steamboat Willie, Robert Eggers/Elias Merhige's knack of grayscaling films into the oldies, and these horror thoughts which were all the rage in the 10s known as "creepypasta", which took the same approach as this film by miring it in mystery and disturbing evidence. Overall what gets to me as legitimately scary is that, even though it was the kind of creepy yet professional kind of horror that recalls the same black and white era Mickey's first film was from, it was only the beginning.

Let alone a short film.