My horror movie reviews

The Thing (1982) Review

I feel there was a time when I once thought allegorical horror started with Del Toro. Of course I also thought Children of the corn was based on a true story. But the point I want to come across is that I obviously don't know when it all started. Maybe it always existed, or maybe movies like Godzilla or the works of John Carpenter brought it out into the light. Eitherway, the form by which Mr. Carpenter did them, from films like Starman that deal with loss and love to adapted horrors like Christine which deal with the more tragic side of rebellion, has always had a unique touch. With The Thing Mr. Carpenter essentially takes an idea that has existed since the 50s and updates it in a way that is more in your face than the original. Although I’ve never seen the original, nor read the source material, I can still say that the theme of distrust and paranoia is nonetheless effectively prominent. That’s not to say that the practical effects on the creature design aren't impressive. But when the original didn't have any by comparison and the prequel, which was released in 2011, ruined them with CG it’s not something that can be looked back at as fondly anymore. Still it’s nevertheless a top notch horror movie.