My horror movie reviews

Spiders (2000) Review

I have been looking for this movie for almost years. I don’t really remember much from it past the fact it essentially messed me up almost as much as The Blob did by having seen it at an early age. It also, however, if not gave me an appreciation for the arachnids portrayed on screen, set the bar for them. No really, thanks to this movie I couldn’t really watch movies like Eight legged freaks and be that shocked mainly because, compared to this, there was little to no soul in it (not because it was actually scary as that was also PG-13). The only movie that legitimately comes to mind which has been able to equal its morbid plasma of a spirit, while still being its own thing, was obviously The Mist. Though i’m going to be frank: it comes as a shock to me that this movie was released in 2000. Most of the effects I remember from it are practical (especially whenever we get a close up of the giant tarantula during the climax). But when you’re not even 12 yet not many things look nor feel like CG, though I’m sure there was some here and there now. All I can really add is that this movie was the best kind of gut punch at the time, really a horror movie that was made by someone who didn’t just want to throw spiders at the audience.

He wanted to throw agriope orb web spiders, black widows, camel spiders, tarantulas, trapdoor spiders, bird eaters, Goliath bird eaters, costa rican orb weavers, wolf spiders, funnel webs, huntsman, and wind spider just to name the ones off the book.