My horror movie reviews

Shaun of the Dead
 Review

The first time I saw this movie it mostly horrified me than made me laugh (mainly because I was starting out High School when I got to that scene at the end with Shaun’s mother). Yeah, it was nothing less than a classic zombie movie which really reminds you of how horrifying the image of a walking corpse is to the point I still have yet to see 28 Days Later as I write this review. But upon giving it a second try (shortly after I watched the rest of the Cornetto trilogy) it made more sense upon paying closer attention to the more human nuances and how zombie movies were always an allegory on something anyway (especially Romero’s zombie flicks). In fact I almost feel like including this movie in the zombie subgenre, but I also feel as though that would be akin to not only making a slasher subgenre along the way, but including Psycho with it: it was more a pioneer than a contributor. Overall I always saw this movie (along with Mr. Wright, Mr. Frost, and Mr. Pegg’s other collaborations) as a perfect example of a post-Monty Python humor that remains just as accessible.