My horror movie reviews

Possessor Review

There's a reason I never had a good cause to review this movie: I was being as distant towards it as it aimed to be towards me. That doesn't mean it's neither an objectively nor intrinsically bad film. In fact Mr. Cronenberg showcases he can rival as much Kubrick as Garland with the way he executes this idea. The difference with the way he makes movies and even his father, David, makes them though is, while he also aims for little to no emotional satisfaction, Brandon still opts for a post-Hobo with a Shotgun approach when it comes to the more violent scenes. Plus at least David Cronenberg wasn't afraid to let the characters be themselves in, say, Crimes of the Future, in a way that made them not only likeable but forgave the near lack of shortcomings there were in comparison. Like I said Possessor is, in the best way possible (depending on anyone's opinion towards this sort of hybrid) what happens when Christopher Nolan produces something by Panos Cosmatos if not vice versa.

To put it more plainly I saw this movie the way Sean Bean wanted me to see his character: appalled yet quizzical on whether I should've been concerned from the start or not.