My horror movie reviews

Plan 9 From Outer Space Review

Contrary to the movie’s popular look I actually ended up watching the colorized version. Of course I’ll never know for certain if this was resourceful or not to the film’s overall feel. What I do know, however, is that the movie kept on bringing me back to Tim Burton’s biopic, Ed Wood, which talks about the director’s life while also providing insight on this film particularly. This especially came into my mind during Bela Lugosi’s scenes, which were bittersweet to say the least upon remembering why half his character’s face is covered throughout the film. At the movie’s worst, though, it not only blurs the line between dated action sequences and earnest incompetence, it also feels like it doesn’t even want to be taken seriously. At its best, however, I can start off by saying that its so-bad-its-good touch may come as one reason why it achieved cult status. The other reasons are practically elaborated throughout the movie like a mosaic. One that really came to me like a stroke of inspiration, as I watched the film unfold in all its 50s quality, was how the present either wants to update something from the past or add complexity to contradict its arguably dull yet wonderful simplicity. And despite being amateur at times I couldn’t help but recall Ridley Scott and The Day The Earth Stood Still if he favored ambition over skill during its best scenes. In fact the third act flat out felt like the entire movie was done cheaply to build up to that one moment of carefully elaborated science fiction. The best I can say about this movie is that it aims high, the acting is competent, and the idea, along with its execution, would’ve worked best in the right hands. Otherwise it’s as much of a horror movie as The House That Drips Blood on Alex was if not even less (though it still works best as a campy sci-fi).