My horror movie reviews

Nope Review

I feel as though Mr. Peele, contrary to one of the film’s quotes, has managed anything but a bad miracle: he’s able to incorporate modern effects into his films without deviating from his preferred genre (at least so far). Another thing I can say about this film, which took me by surprise, is how it not only blended horror and science fiction seamlessly (in a way that visually recalled a classic aesthetic from both genres) but that it also found a way to bring our post-digital generation’s mindset into the mix. And like all good horror films (if not films in general) it reminds us that suspense is achieved not by speeding things up but by slowing them down. That and the fact it doesn’t shy away from moments that belong in horror movies by default yet makes sure they connect to the story. I can also personally say that Mr. Peele finally made a movie that I like starring Daniel Kaluuya (as this film at least lacks certain plot-holes which render it nonsensical if not unlikable). Though I noticed that a lot of people compared it to Close encounter of a third kind, it personally reminded me of a more 70s horror inspired take on Midnight Special (a movie which, in itself, was influenced by Carpenter’s Starman, the latter who directed The Thing which also starred Keith David, as it would appear). Overall it’s certainly a movie where Mr. Peele (contrary to the overall feel it gave me) steps out of his comfort zone more often than his previous efforts yet has it pay off for the most bit. (Note: Even though I don’t consider myself as obsessed with westerns as I was a decade ago I still couldn’t help but detect a subtle yet sincere nod, from Otis Haywood’s beginning scene, to Maureen McBain’s fate. To quote the equally obvious character “who knows”.)