My horror movie reviews

Men (2022) Review

The more time passes the more this movie makes sense to me, at least concerning the borderline controversial ending. At the risk of spoiling some see it as trying to find a clever (albeit metaphorical) way of getting away with certain ā€œismsā€. Others just think of it as Mr. Garland essentially having abandoned the approach his previous films had to try something new for the sake of sacrificing complacency in this day and age. But in the end everyone will have their own specific, and even personal, interpretation of the film. Even for me it still isnā€™t clear. ā€ØAt first I thought it was a history lesson on how masculinity had ā€œevolvedā€ throughout the centuries. Then the idea came to me that it was just the UK itself trying to express those same ā€œismsā€ by having each layer (or walls that men build) be personified to certain extremes. Currently I just see it as a tragic alternative to what itā€™s like to see yourself die so many times due to how painfully convoluted life can get to the point itā€™s not only out of your control but you donā€™t even care enough to get away with it in an R rated horror movie so long as itā€™s the man who is sacrificing himself for this level of poking fun at oneā€™s self. That or for the sake of what it is to find another version of oneā€™s self. But like I said it still has yet to be clear to me (if it ever will be or was even meant to be) as, much like Eraserhead, itā€™s the kind of film that succeeds in as much the surrealist as it does with the folk horror element that came before.