My horror movie reviews

Mandy Review

At first I didn’t want to watch this movie because, despite it being Mr. Cage’s acclaimed movie in quite some time, the style reminded me too much from the worst of my past self. Yet it wasn’t until I saw the trailer that I felt the movie at least wanted to be watched. Once I finally did I discovered something I didn’t think would be possible until I finally also gave Turbo Kid a chance afterwards: The same feeling I got from Hobo with a Shotgun if Mr. Eisener and Mr. Cosmatos collaborated after learning from their respective films, be it the former or Beyond the Black Rainbow. At both its best and its worst it’s further proof that bad movies from the 70s and 80s can be turned into something good as long as you extract the best from them. I mostly enjoyed it for the score by late composer Jóhann Jóhannsson, but the inspired psychedelic action and visuals nevertheless recall too many films to point out, even if they’re not limited to these: The Shining in Red’s breakdown, The At Close Range-like melodrama when Jeremiah Sand aggressively asks for “Brother Swan’s” presence, The Black Skulls essentially a combined homage of Mad Max 2 baddies and Hellraiser’s Cenobites, The chainsaw fight reminiscent to an iconic shot from The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, or The contrasting rainbow hues in Mandy’s room reminding me too much of the opening in Hausu.