My horror movie reviews

In Your Eyes (2020) Review

At its best this was essentially The Weeknd trying to give Thriller the Follow You treatment. Of course when it accomplishes both it feels more like a punchline than an overall product by the end. The reasons are simple: not only does BMTH have more experience shocking people in their past videos, but In Your Eyes seemed to lack the sporadic choreography that Thriller held in place of that same pseudo twist ending. An even bigger irony is that The Weeknd has proven to be a versatile dancer in his “I can’t feel my face” video. But given the ambition, convincing atmosphere, fun 80s throwback aesthetic (be it because of the steamy fog or saxophone solo) and that same enjoyably disturbing energy by the end (which was when it really emanated an inspired albeit unbalanced mixture between BMTH and MJ’s videos) I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t impressed.