My horror movie reviews

Hausu Review

I came into this movie expecting something at least unsettling if not horrifying. Most Japanese horror films nearly scar me easily by the premise (and renown alone) from Audition to Ringu (which I only saw the American remake of). So when I finally saw this I discovered that this was very much a horror movie for the least likely reason possible: In the same way that “Birdemic: Shock and Terror”, “Jesus Christ: Vampire Hunter” or even “John Dies at The End” were horror movie. Meaning its either hilariously shocking or shockingly hilarious (or both in this case). Horror comedies are nothing new, this one was just one of the pioneers of being unintentionally bad to the point it was hilarious at the time of its release. Its energy, and even out-of-place attention to detail would go on to inspire films like Evil Dead, Insidious, and even Mandy. If nothing else its a fun (if a bit more kooky than actually scary) horror movie.