My horror movie reviews

Get Out Review

My biggest issue with this movie was that it was essentially a reverse Beyond The Black Rainbow. Yes, it had a good premise, but unlike Us, it was stale in both production value and characterizations. In terms of tonal consistency, though, I didn’t completely understand how I was supposed to feel. Some scenes that were somewhat humorous were supposed to be scary (like that scene where the guy yells the films title) while others were vice versa (which is hard to tell because there were too many to point out). But as personally subjective as I may sound my biggest gripe was the hypnosis scene, which is never explained thoroughly in terms of how something like that would be plausible. Although not many people were bothered by it a small little detail like that served as the biggest plothole for me. To put it in perspective there is a scene from Kingsman: The Secret Service which is similar to this scene but done right. To make a long story short Samuel L. Jackson’s character explains how there was a radio frequency which could drive people angrily insane. Although I know suspension of disbelief doesn’t require a horror movie to be hard science fiction there still shouldn’t be a reason why we’re supposed to accept it that easily if it’s going to tread that genre (especially via dialogue) throughout the end of the second act anyway. So while the substance was well thought out and ambitious the movie in itself felt mostly incomplete.