My horror movie reviews

Fright Night (2011)
 Review

The hilariously horrifying poster for the original Fright Night was what kept me from watching that movie. Of course seeing Colin Ferell’s more chill albeit still sinister image (combined with the decade’s dying Twilight craze) drove me into the remake. On one hand vampires lost their fun not because of Twilight (despite the franchise being the best kind of unintentionally cringeworthy) but because Interview with a vampire exploited their weakness in a way that got to me at a young age. Granted that I would go on to relive the trauma with Daybreakers and Let the right one in. So once I saw it happen not only in this Fright Night movie but Let me in I was sort of becoming numb to an idea almost every vampire movie was cashing in on (let’s just say seeing them sparkle was apparently even worse than the “logical” alternative). At its best this movie is just David Tennant, Mr. Ferrell, Imogen Poots, Toni Collette, Anton Yelchin, and maybe Mr. Mintz-Plasse (at least until HIS scene by the second half happens) having a rollicking time with a more juiced up R rated version of the Twilight movies. I want to point out that, to my dismay, they also pay homage to the original movie’s poster by the third act. Yet not only do you have to enjoy the movie enough to have made it that far, the way it’s executed also feels like it may have influenced the opening to Mr. Muschietti’s It Chapter 1. So this was an overall enjoyably passable vampire flick whether you’ve seen the original or not.