My horror movie reviews

Boogeyman (2005) Review

The first thing that comes to my mind when I think of this movie is, in the most suitably uncreative form, Xanax. The second is that obvious early 2000s Gore Verbinski movie that as much inspired a good cause as a bad one to make horror movies in such a way that I am beyond grateful to have departed that decade. This movie, however, not only feels lazy but almost made by someone who either doesn't even like horror movies or, along the way, simply followed the Marabunta principle of making horror movies in terms of what the premise could've been. Or, if I'm to be blunt, this is his cinematic response to The Ring itself by saying "Bruh, I was scared of the closet too. Let's see if THAT'S still more horrifying than what I see in the news as an adult nowadays". Of course I understand how making PG-13 horror movies around that time was like finding a four leafed clover in a golden haystack within wherever Atlantis is located. It just hurt knowing how, when I saw the eponymous antagonist's design, I didn't even know yet that CGI was also used as an effect a decade earlier than this film was released despite not as prominently. Overall I can't really recommend this movie unless you prefer boring low-fantasy suspense movies which, to call horror would be like calling a chicken a cassowary. I just can't guarantee that you yourself probably didn't have something more horrifying in mind than the end result (especially in this day and age).