My horror movie reviews

Barbarian (2022) Review

So the first forty minutes, or so, are fairly impressive. The title’s font (as well as its presentation) and music flat out excel at conveying us an 80s vibe while the lighting and incredibly smooth camerawork compliment that atmosphere. My only gripe may be how, although it does achieve suspense with them, the odd moments nearly feel out of place. But the fact that it is willing to take as much time as it needs to in order to establish these characters is what makes it believable even for the most close-minded spectators. Yep, the first forty minutes of the film were evenly assembled, borrow from certain scenes in The Shining in ways that don’t unnecessarily amp them up by eight hundred, and prove they can be well made without feeling ham-fisted in certain degrees or sacrificing subtlety.

And then the rest of the movie happened..

(But in all serious ness I understand what they were going for. When it works I can see why people liked it so much. Otherwise I’d be lying if I said I had that fun of a time after Keith and Tess’s final moment together).