My horror movie reviews

Alleluia! The Devil's Carnival Review

I mean I’ll give Mr. Bousman this: he essentially has all the energy, aesthetic, and originality to be in the same echelon as Tim Burton, Terry Gilliam, Rob Zombie, Marilyn Manson, whatever. It’s not that I blame him for wanting to keep a low profile, especially in a decade like the 10s when a masterpiece like this was even possible. But as exceedingly bombastic as this was, it pains me to admit that even The Happiness of the Katakuris was a more horrifying musical. That’s not to say that it was bad, as this film knows what it wants to be and makes sure every dollar from it’s five hundred thousand dollar budget is put to better use this time around. I just feel as though he’s more adept into making dark fantasy musicals than he is at horror movies. But it’s still a more fleshed out improvement over the 2012 prequel, and it’s hard to really hate a movie that manages to get David Hasselhoff and Tech N9ne almost during an entire minute.